As we enter Holy Week

Brunhilde Luken has offered these two poems and a painting called “Invitation to the Light” to reflect upon as we enter Holy Week.

“Invitation into the Light”

As we progress through Holy Week, we are reminded of the suffering our Lord did for us. He shows us perfect Love. He does expect us to do likewise and show perfect love. He never said it would be easy. We are asked to do our best and love as He loves us. According to

1 John 4-20,21:  “If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar, for he who does not love his brother  whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen? And this commandment we have from Him: that he who loves God must love his brother also.”

Two sets of wings

Wow, two sets of wings
I sat in this big room all by my self
There was a big stage in front of me
Some body called my name and asked me to come to the stage.
I looked around.
I wanted to make sure it was me they called.
Three little angel where bustling around.
They fitted the wings to me

Wow two sets of wings

The price I paid for all your sins
Now you can earn the big white wings
There is a price attached
As you will see
Only your life
Just yield it to me
Then you will fly for all to see
With two sets of wings, that I handed to thee.

John 7:38

He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said,
out of his heart will flow rivers of living water

Foot washing

I washed your feet
Long, long ago
Now it’s your turn
to do just so
Just wash their feet
It’s needed so much
Make the world better
With your gentle touch
Show the love
I allowed you to see
Use the two sets of wings
That I handed to thee.

 John 13:14-16

If I then, your Lord and Teacher,
have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.
Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master;
nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him.

“Invitation into the Light”

As we progress through Holy Week, we are reminded of the suffering our Lord did for us. He shows us perfect Love. He does expect us to do likewise and show perfect love. He never said it would be easy. We are asked to do our best and love as He loves us. According to

1 John 4-20,21:  “If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar, for he who does not love his brother  whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen? And this commandment we have from Him: that he who loves God must love his brother also.”
Leave a Reply

