The beauty of play

by Brunhilde Luken

Often we become so overwhelmed with things we have to do, that we simply forget we also have a little girl inside that still needs playtime. I experienced just such a time when I went to sleep one evening a few years back.

The Girl in the Meadow

I heard her calling me
come, come, begging me
Please come and play.

I opened the door,
It was so beautiful outside,
There was a big meadow right in front of me,

In the distance I saw the little girl,
Please, please come and play.

I did not even hesitate,
I ran towards her,
Together we danced under the sun.
I twirled her around, we rolled down the hill
All the while giggling and laughing,
What a happy time,
All was perfect.
I woke up still giggling.

Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:3)

We have great joy and consolation in your love, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you. (Philemon 7)

For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning. (Psalm 30: 5)

You will show me the path of life; in your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore. (Psalm 16: 11)

Leave a Reply

