Love that never ends

by Brunhilde Luken

In our Christian experience nothing is more important than who Jesus was and still is. When we understand who Jesus is we also understand what love is. Love is not just a fuzzy feeling. Love is what the Lord demonstrated on the cross. He died for all of us.

In Matthew 1:21 “She will bring forth a Son, and you shall call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins.”

In Matthew 1: 23 “Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name Immanuel.” which is translated, “God with us.”

God loved us so much that He sent His only Son to show us how to love. My favorite prayer is still Our Lord’s prayer, which I still pray in the German language.

Vater unser, der Du bist im Himmel. Geheiligt werde Dein Name. Zu uns komme Dein Reich. Dein Wille geschehe wie im Himmel also auch auf Erden. Unser taeglisches Brot gib uns heute und vergib uns unsere Schuld, wie auch wir vergeben unseren Schuldigern, und fuehre uns nicht in Versuchung sondern erloese uns von dem Uebel. Amen.

Matthew 6: 9-14: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.”

John 13: 34, 35: “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”

1 Corinthians 13: 4-8: “Love suffers long and is kind, love does not envy, love does not parade itself, is not puffed up, does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil, does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth, bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.”

1 Corinthians 13:13: “And now abide faith, hope, love, these three, but the greatest of these is love.”

2 Thessalonians 2:16, 17: “Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself, and our God and Father, who has loved us and given us everlasting consolation and good hope by grace, comfort your hearts and establish you in every good word and work.”

In the Bible the word love is mentioned over and over again. It sounds so easy, but it is often hard.

I often pray, “Please Lord, teach me to love as You love us.”

This is not easy. When I listen to the evening news there are many times when I have to quickly say, “Please Lord, teach me to love as You love us.”

God is Love. He can not do anything else but love us all equally. This is hard to comprehend, but He does love us equally. This is why He died on the cross for all of us. He showed us how to love without reservation: “Love one another as I have loved you.”

Psalm 18: 1, 2: “I will love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress.”

The following is a poem I wrote:

 

“Love that never ends”

by Brunhilde Luken

As I woke up this morning
I felt so loved by You.
You were still holding me.

With many thanks, I greeted the new day.
You smiled at me.
I knew right then

That nothing could take away this wonderful love,
So freely given,
For me to take.

Just seek and you will find,
It is already there.
Before you could ever think of Me

I put it there.
I allow you to choose
I hope it is I,
The eyes of your heart
Will tell you why.

True love can only be found within.
Just trust Me
I will take you to this never-ending flow of love,
It’s deep in your heart.

As you seek Me,
It will never part.”

Leave a Reply

