Happy New Year 2012

Reflections by Brunhilde Luken

To all of you a Happy and Healthy New Year. Did you make a New Year’s resolution?

Part of my New Year’s resolution is to take some quiet time to reflect on the past year. If we listen to the news we get bombarded by negative news and politics. Yes, politics are important. We need people who watch over the political affairs of our country and the world. It would be wonderful if we could just focus on holding hands from one end of the world and reach all across with love and understanding of one another and the One who created this beautiful world. Maybe it would then truly be beautiful.

God created us in His image, but human. Jesus died on the Cross for all of us to give us a chance to follow in His footsteps. He also gave us a free will.

We do have to ask and call on the Lord to be with us every step of the way.
New year, a new beginning. A chance to grow more deeply in love with the Lord.

It is also a time to reflect.
Did I make a difference in anybody’s life? Did I miss an opportunity to testify to the Lord? The world is changing constantly. Do I stand firm in my faith and love of the Lord?

Lord show me the way to love you more deeply and see more clearly.

John 6:38 For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me.

Hebrews 13: 20,21 Now may the God of peace who brought up our Lord Jesus from the dead, that great Shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant, make you complete in every good work to do His will, working in you what is well pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

And the apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith.”

Many of us get hurt in our life. Often we did not heed the warning signs of the Lord, small or large. We simply walk past and don’t recognize the danger.

It was at just such a time of recognition that I screamed to the Lord, “Lord, my Lord!! I am so sorry, I did not see.”

I knew He was there with me. I could feel His presence. All I could hear was “Come closer, much closer.” I bowed to the Lord, “Yes, Lord not my will but Your Will be done.” Immediately He showed me several small crosses and a casket, but then a large golden Cross. I could feel Him holding me.

He told me, “I am with you always.
Come closer, I am with you all the way. ”
More and more I also recognized the Gifts of the Lord. My Art deepened and I can see the Hand of the Lord in it.

MICHAELANGELO BUONAROTI(1475-1564)
True art is made noble and religious by the mind producing it. . . the endeavor to create something perfect, for God is perfection, and whoever strives after perfection is striving for something divine.

PAUL KLEE (1879-1940)
Art does not reproduce the visible, rather, it makes visible.

EDGAR DEGAS(1834-1917)
Art is really a battle.

ROBERT HENRI (1865-1929)
A work of art is the trace of a magnificent struggle.

JEAN-BAPTIST-CAMILLE COROT 1796-1875
Be guided by feelings alone. . . Before any site and any object, abandon yourself to your first impression. If you have really been touched, you will convey to others the sincerity of your emotion.

I will close with a poem I wrote, it is also part of my book, My Walk With Christ, A Spiritual Journey

Butterfly
Where will you rest today?
The flowers all gone,
The cold will come.
Butterfly, where will you find your nectar?

You move so gently.

Come to me,
Rest in the palm of my hand
I will feed you with nectar
And keep you ’till spring.

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you. (1 Peter 5:6-7)

20120106-213321.jpg

Leave a comment