Why?

by Brunhilde Luken

I walk this earth just a little while,
Starving to learn,
To know, to see, to listen,
Why am I here?
What is it all about?

All around me I see people, people, everywhere
Dunkin’ Donuts, newspapers, offices, day care,
More fast food, home from the gym,
Exhausted to bed,
Oh yes, quick a Lunesta (sleeping pill)
I need my sleep.
Then the same thing all over again.

“Is this what it’s all about” I shout,
Can anybody hear me?
Quietly I sit on a rock,
A tiny chipmunk is rushing around,
The birds are singing,
The sun is warming the still crisp air.

What if I miss the meaning?
What am I here for?
I feel frightened.

I keep pondering,
There has to be a reason,
Will I ever fully know?
These glimpses I get from time to time.

Slowly I walk back home
The wind moves the chimes to a beautiful song:
Ding, ding, ding,
I feel so peaceful.

Why am I here, Lord?
I feel His arms around me
“You are here, because I love you.”

Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the  Spirit of God dwells in you? (1 Cor. 3:16)

We do live in this oneness that is in a constant state of flux. It has to be in a state of flux, because we are growing closer to His image. The only One not changing is our Father, Son and Holy Spirit, our teacher. He is the One to help us to change to be closer to Him. It is a constant learning and listening to the Spirit of our Lord, the little nudges, our dreams. I find the middle of the night often the time when I can listen the best. This is when I can tune in to our Lord’s message. I can talk to the Father without interruption. At times the answer to a question is when you open your bible and you find the answer right there. There are many times when I say: “wow, this is amazing”. The answer comes so fast. We do have to be quiet. When I was younger I often thought you just don’t do enough for the Lord. Yet every move we make needs to be in His Spirit. To listen to our Lord. He told us He will direct our ways.  He will show us the next step.

There have been many times throughout my life when I found myself in a bookstore talking to our Lord: “What is it I need to learn next?” I have so many questions, I reached into the shelf and the book I picked was just the perfect book on my walk with our Lord. I know that when our Lord answers my prayers best is when I just simply ask my Father, Abba, and then let it go. I put it all into His hands. I don’t beg Him, I just expect it to be done. His will is not necessarily our will. It is also accepting our Lord’s will for our life. As children we often heard: “Father knows best, this is how it is!” We have to trust in the Lord. When change comes your way, you know it is His will. If you know it is His will, you know it is good. Who knows best what is good for us, if it is not our heavenly Father.

On a wonderful sunny day, everything seems perfect. I sit back and contemplate. Why can’t life stay like this? It can’t, if we are not open to change then we cannot grow. We also cannot get closer to the Lord. We have to be open to the changes in us and around us. The changes our Lord will send to help us grow. To learn to understand. When we live our life with an open mind there is not a single day when we do not learn something new.

I used to tell my children life is like when you build with your Legos: one block fits into the other until you create something beautiful. This is what our Lord does with us, all our experiences are building blocks and God will create something beautiful. Even experiences that were bad, don’t have to be stumbling blocks, bad experiences are also building blocks. Every thought we think is part of this wonderful creation God is working on. We have to allow the Lord to fine tune us, to fine tune our senses.  It is through our senses that we feel the presence of the Lord.

I never forget the feeling when I visited a cathedral in Spain, there was a walk behind the altar passing  a statue of a black Madonna. I cannot explain the wonderful overwhelming feelings that I was filled with. There was a constant line of people walking passed the statue with their prayers. One could feel their prayers. How I wished I could just stay there in this presence of Holiness and keep being nourished. If we think about this we must realize that every thought we think is also like a prayer that goes out into the world where we are all connected through our loving God.

Let us all stay connected in His Love.

Our final Victory

(1 Corinthians 50-54)  Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God. Behold I tell you a mystery: We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed- in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed. For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality. So when this corruptible has put on incorruption, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory.”

Leave a Reply

