My heart is open and very still

by Brunhilde Luken

Lord, I can hear you speak to me:
“I know your happiness; I know your pain,
I can see you smile at Me, trust Me and let go.
Take a step and the next, you will not fall.
It is My promise, I am with you all the way”.

Lord, you have a way of replacing fear with joy,
Ever ready to take my hand to lead me.
Sometimes I cannot see.

You tell me:
“Just trust your heart to Me, and you will see.
I will give you wisdom to see, not eyes.
Even if you think this cannot be.
With my heart in yours, you can just trust in Me.

You were not born for a smooth ride.
Like a pebble, only after much bouncing around
Did the edges get smooth.
You will emerge as a precious stone.

So, trust Me, do hold My hand,
So when the storm gets rough you will not fall.
Trust Me and follow Me”.

I woke up one morning a few years ago and these words where on my lips. I wrote them down so as not to forget. I pondered about them, as I do whenever something strikes me as important. I felt touched by the Holy Spirit. I thanked the Lord for the new day. Like every day. I felt this was a special day. I could not help  but ponder on this poem. I am always hungry for the meaning of things. This I felt was truly special.

I always pray for wisdom. I filed this special poem in my inner Garden, my paradise where the Lord dwells.

A little while past and for unknown reasons to the doctors, I lost the eyesight of my right eye. I was puzzled, only then did I understand this poem. I simply could not be upset.

What is more important than wisdom? I thanked the Lord, because now I felt, “He must have given me wisdom. This was a small price to pay for wisdom”

After many eye doctor visits, the doctor did laser surgery to stop some bleeding in the eye, everything else was healthy.

When I went in for laser surgery I just stayed fully in touch with the Lord, in total communion. I was not worried, I knew the Lord had allowed this to happen and He would take care of this. While in surgery I was totally awake. Laser surgery is not painful just a bit uncomfortable as the laser touches your eye.

I could not believe what I saw. The whole room was filled with nurses and doctors all dressed in pure white. I felt like shouting for joy. I knew the Lord was with me, He will never fail you. Just have trust in Him.

After the surgery I told my husband who was present, along with the doctor and a nurse (none of them was fully dressed in white) what I saw.  I was so excited and wanted to shout for joy, my husband said,”Don’t say anything” I do tell him often when I experience a special blessing, I did feel this was a special blessing the Lord had sent. I could never be sad about having lost the eyesight in my right eye.

The world does not want to acknowledge the workings of the Almighty. He is present in happenings we experience, good and bad. He is the “Almighty,” the One and Only God. I do remind myself to listen to that little small voice, so I can hear with my Heart.

The hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such to worship Him. God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4: 1- 26

Whoever wants to save his life will lose it. But whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.
Matthew 16:25

A few words of wisdom from my desk calendar:

Each man marvels to find in the divine Scriptures truths which he himself thought out.
St. Thomas Aquinas

He who has God finds he lacks nothing: God alone suffices.
St. Teresa of Avila

Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding.
Kahlil Gibran

Life is a paradise for those who love many things with a passion.
Leo Buscaglia

Leave a Reply

